Tube assist for beginners - youtube link

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tube assist for beginners - youtube link

Has anyone tried this? I have been doing this for the past two years and just figured someone else has been doing it.

We all know that the hardest part of surfing is usually getting the rider up. It is fairly simple (deep water start) but with the ones who aren't in the best physical shape or young or in my case (my wife isn't the strongest) the tube gets them out of the water and in the proper stance.

My son's finance went from her first pull on the tube to going wireless five pulls later. The tube takes away all the stress on the muscle groups that one needs to stand up and those new riders can try subsequent pulls without getting tired.

We set the tube rope (75') on the opposite side of the rider on the transom cleat. With the boat in gear I throw a couple of loops away from the boat while keeping the tube on the boat. This insures the rope is fully played out and no chance to grab the prop. With the rider seated on the tube, I place their feet on the board and hand them the rope. My driver puts the boat into gear and then neutral allowing me to check their placement and ensure they are set. In some cases the tube rope gets on top of the board and they get concerned but never has the tube rope interfered with the rider.

I have used this technique about 30 times now and we have a 100% success rate with the first or second pull. This past week I had four new riders and all got up on their first pull; even my 52 year old wife who had two major surgeries this past year. Lastly we only have one person setting up the rider to ensure mistakes are minimized. Once the rider is up the tube just pulls behind the boat which also acts as a safety indicator to those annoying jet ski riders.

Let me know if I am doing something boneheaded but it seems to work.
    Here is the link on YouTube https://youtu.be/-RS8B46PAr0
    Paul Middlemore