Why is it so da*n hard to do a 360?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why is it so da*n hard to do a 360?

The title says it all... Feel like I am beating my head against a wall!

My latest is that I get about 3/4 of the way around then my fins seem to catch and send me off the board.

I agree. I am no expert but I was always told to push down hard on the tail of the board. Then treat the 360 like two 180's. I usually try to go to fast and that seems to work for me.

Good luck!
    "You're rather attractive for a beautiful girl with a great body."

Comment

For me I find the more I stand tall the faster I spin opposed to being bent over. The reason being when you stand tall you flat spin your board opposed to trying to roll from edge to edge when bent over. You can also use your inside hand by putting it in the wave to help you around. I've gotten around a few times now and rode my first one out the other day. This has been my experience when I do it and I watch my friend do it.

Comment

A couple of observations from an admitted 360 novice:

* 360's seem mostly (to me) to be about edge control. The leading edge of the board is changing during the spin, which means the angle of the board has to CHANGE during rotation. (Strinctly speaking the board stays in the same plane, but from a rider's footing perspective it's shifting.) That takes a fair amount of planning and real-time awareness. Otherwise, the leading edge (that was the trailing edge just a moment ago) catches the water and you're done because rotation stops instantly and the board wants to dive/pearl.