RZ4 vs. Z3 surf waves (best case loaded) Req

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

RZ4 vs. Z3 surf waves (best case loaded) Req

Does anyone have a best (read: additional/tuned ballast) surf wave VX RZ4 vs. VX Z3 opinion? Pictures? I’m a traditional bow fan and my wife is starting to like Pickleforks more… before I really consider the RZ4 I want to know how comparable the waves are between the two. Min boat length is 23ft due to how we use the boat... so these are my only two Tige options...

Thanks!

I originally was only looking at pickle nose boats from MB, Malibu, supra and then Tige.

My dealer had a leftover rz2 along with the new z1 and z3
    The hull quality from the mold being newer on the Z series was noticeably better and everyone agrees the Z series is better for surfing, how much is subjective though and I'm no expert.

Just thinking that the newer hull design must be an improvement I went with the Z3 and love it with the exception of the motor leaving me stranded regularly.. That's for another post though...lol

Comment

I have had both boats, and weighted many of each. I would rate the Z3 surf wave like a 9, and the 2015 setup a 10. The RZ4 would be like a 6 or 7, which is still a good surf wave, but not the Z3. If you are getting the latest 2015 on the RZ4, it may be better.
      http://wake9.com/

Comment

Whatever ragboy says goes!! Id say 15 z3 also for surf wave. They handle extremely well in chop water if that is what you are afraid of with the 23ft boat. I'd say they will handle better than the rz4 in chop water but haven't been on a rz4 for a few years and know they have changed a bit but don't think it would be that significant.

Comment

I think the RZ4 handles chop fine, but I would say the Z3 is better due to the traditional bow, its dryer. Also, the Z3 has much more freeboard, and less list while surfing, 2 HUGE benefits. The Z3 is even dryer up front than the 24Ve, so its not just a traditional bow vs pickle fork.

Comment