Surfing help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Surfing help

I am new to surfing and would like some suggestions on board selection. I am 5'6" and about 175 LBS. I have a 04 24V. I am a little confused on length of the board I need. My 24V does not have a ballast system at this time, just the taps2 system. I have surfed once and loved it but at this time I would like a price concious option (will not break the bank).

board selection will come down to personal tastes. Do you have buddies you can try or demo boards from? 175 isn't heavy for wakesurfing so you can probably surf about anything. The 24v is a sweet surf boat but you will need to buy a fat sac and a pump to really get the wave going.
    Build thread: http://www.tigeowners.com/forum/showthread.php?14787-Duffy-s-2005-24v-wakesurfing-mod-thread&highlight=duffys+24v

Comment

Tons of different options and opinions. I know that many, myself included, have started with a Hyperlite Broadcast or similar board.

Comment

Originally posted by skippabcool View Post
        Tons of different options and opinions. I know that many, myself included, have started with a Hyperlite Broadcast or similar board.
        X2

Comment

I recommend not going too short (under 4'-6") for a first board. I also feel the cheap foam boards are not worth the money. Get a board that is described as fast if you are running with little or no weight this will help keep you in the pocket. Good Luck!

Comment

I started on a Hyperlite broadcast too. Got ti before I even got the boat. I got lucky and boards came with the boat. Went with Inland surfer and Ronix boards. Can't remember the modles. But they are better than the broadcast after learning.

Here is the deal too. All boards are different and you will over time accumulate many different kinds. You will end up with a quiver of boards each with a different characturistic. This is also because you will be bringing friends and may not want them riding your favorite.