Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wake question/help please

Hello,

I'm new to surfing but getting the bug quickly. It's a nice change from wakeboarding and something fun to do in the middle of the day when the water is a bit rough.

So here is my current question. I've got a Z1 with no hard tanks. I've got a pair of vdrive sacks and a 750 sack. I'm having trouble getting the wake to "push" the rider. I don't know the technical term but "push" is what I'm going to call it here. I have ridden a skim and surf style boards. Both seem to have the same issue. More with the surf board than the skim. Every now and then I get it where I can ride no problem and it feels great. I move some folks around or change the weight a bit and then loose it. Do I need more weight up front or in the rear to get more of a push from the wake. I'm not sure if that make sense but let me know what you all think. Or it very well could be I'm just a bad rider.

Thanks!!
    Tyler

Don't get frustrated, it is going to take some time on the water to get the feel for the balance of the sweet spot on the wake, it is a bit different than wakeboarding.

I assume you are weighting the side of the boat you are surfing on and not balancing the weight across the back of the boat. Wake9.com has some great pictures of a great clean surf wake, that is what you are looking for.

Next is how much do you weigh and what board are you riding? If you are a big guy on a small board you are going to struggle to freeride, i know from personal experience. I currently have basic factory ballast in my RZ2 and I only weight the surf side with the factory 250# hard tank and as many people as I can get out on the water with me. I ride at about 10.4mph with taps at 6.