So what is the hot wakeboard setup?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So what is the hot wakeboard setup?

Just wondering every bodies thoughts on the different wakeboards and bindings out there I have an old CWB that has treated me well but it is time to update.

What is your level of experience? Do you prefer open or closed toe bindings? How tall and weight? Cable and Boat? Or just Boat?
    I do all my own stunt work. hey ya'll watch dis.

Comment

Do you snowboard? If so, demo a Slingshot wake board.

Comment

I am a rookie but I really really want a slingshot. They look ridiculous, but I haven't ridden one yet.
        '99 Tige 21v MercCruiser 350 MPI

Comment

Originally posted by Yokes View Post
          I am a rookie but I really really want a slingshot. They look ridiculous, but I haven't ridden one yet.
          They are a free-ride sort of board. Definitely looser and harder to control. There is no cheating by using big fins or bottom channels present on some other boards. On a Slingshot (like a snowboard), you are usually carving an edge to maneuver. They are huge amounts of fun for surface tricks too. I will admit they are harder to learn to jump on because landing can be slippery.

I started on a Ronix and have ridden friend's Hyperlight, LF, and maybe a few others. I doubt I will ever own a non-Slingshot board.

I had an older retired Slingshot Response (continuous rocker) after I upgraded to a Slingshot Newton. So I bought two sets of surf traction pads and set them up at 24" 15/15 degrees and ride it with no bindings. When I get especially daring I ride that same setup with no bindings and no fins. Amazing fun. End of last season I barely touched my board with bindings because the no-binding ride was so much fun.

Comment