beginner boarders

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

beginner boarders

hope to have our first boat by this weekend.
    I have two boy's 11 and 15, one is 5', 95 lbs and the other around 5'11 at 130. I am 6', 190 pounds. I's there a board size that would accomodate all of us begenners?

Im not an expert by any means but have learned to ride in the last few years and just giving you some of what i have figured out.

First off it will be very awkward maybe difficult for your son (the younger) to control a board that will be made to fit a rider your size. Most board lengths correspond with a rider weight, and even those ratings depend on the manufacturer, profile, bouyancy, and such.

When wakeboarding there can be a good difference in models and riding; once you progress you may want to get a more advanced board so keep prices in mind when making choices.

A good place to start would be at a local Board Shop if there is one, and good boards to look at to begin and learn on might be a CWB, Hyperlite, or Liquid Force. Each brand offers models to fit many types of riding. So if possible talk to someone and try to set up a demo of a few boards you are interested in so that you dont end up with something you dont like. Since size/weight is a key factor in board size getting one board for yourself and two sons may not be plausible, but if you find one that will accomodate then congrats!!

Next topic will be bindings... each of the previous brands offers bindings and bindings are interchangeable between boards. So this part is much easier to decide on right now. CWB offers the "HingeTech" boots which i have seen to be durable and comfortable.

Again im no expert but just throwing some ideas out there to play with, good luck!!

Comment

what about the boards I see at Academy? Worth anything?

Comment

Wouldnt say worthless by any means, do you know what kind of boards??