Hydrofoil - Beginner Advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Hydrofoil - Beginner Advice

I was hoping to get some advice on hydrofoils. The only time I have ridden was over 20 years ago, just for one afternoon. I do not know anyone that has one, so I am not in a position to borrow one to test. From the reading I have done, it appears there have been some improvements throughout the years.

Concerns:
    1. Buying an old junker that is obsolete, resulting in the interest to fade quickly.
    2. Buying a new top of the line foil that is too difficult for a beginner, resulting in me selling it used for a considerable loss.
    3. Buying a new basic foil that I outgrow immediately, wanting a better one.

Due to the costs of the foils, I want to make the best decision (knowing that there is not a perfect solution).

Thoughts?

Looks like you're not too far from me. I had a hydra foil back in the day. I'm no expert,but I would think any would be sufficient. Think about it? Guys were doing flips on the old style ones. So the equipment isn't the problem. Buy an old one for cheap 200 to 300 dollars. Once you decide whether or not it's something you want to pursue. Then move on or buy a new fancy one.
    I do all my own stunt work. hey ya'll watch dis.

Comment

I am with Robert, but look into one from the early 2000's Air Chair and Sky Ski had the adjustable rear foil at that point you can progress. Then pop for something newer/new. We did for about 5 years but switched to surfing.... Good luck with your search

Comment