clunk in v drive just when idling in gear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

clunk in v drive just when idling in gear

Noticed this weekend after running my boat for a couple of days straight that I can hear a clunking noise in the v drive/trans area. It only does in when you first put it in gear and idling. As soon as you give it gas it clears up. Any ideas what this could be?

Possible flex-plate coupler between engine and trans.
    Mikes Liquid Audio: Knowledge Experience Customer Service you can trust-KICKER WetSounds ACME props FlyHigh Custom Ballast Clarion LiquidLumens LEDs Roswell Wave Deflector And More

Comment

Do you have a picture by chance of the flex plate coupler or could you tell me what it looks like. This is my first v drive boat and I'm still learning. Thanks

Comment

Ok I found a picture of it in the parts manual. Do you think its just going bad? Is it something I should be worried about?

Comment

Well I think I found my vibration. The prop nut backed off and was resting on the cotter key. I got a new nut, I take it there is no washer that is supposed to go on. Is there a torque spec for it?

Comment

Originally posted by oleblue View Post
            Well I think I found my vibration. The prop nut backed off and was resting on the cotter key. I got a new nut, I take it there is no washer that is supposed to go on. Is there a torque spec for it?
            No washer and I would torque to about 35-45 lb/ft, but the trick is to make sure the prop is fully seated on the tapered shaft.
            Mikes Liquid Audio: Knowledge Experience Customer Service you can trust-KICKER WetSounds ACME props FlyHigh Custom Ballast Clarion LiquidLumens LEDs Roswell Wave Deflector And More

Comment

I'm having the same issue on my 2005 22v. When I first put it in gear and am at the lowest amount of throttle I hear a clunk-clunk-clunk-clunk-clunk-clunk... as soon as I give it more gas it goes away. Any suggestions? My boat has 275 hours.