Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Raptor 400 hydrolock

Hello everybody,
    Wanted to reach out in search of information on the Raptor 400 series engine.
    I have recently acquired a 2017 Tige Z3 with "engine issues" I am heavy equipment mechanic by trade and therefore I like to dabble in engine work myself, however this is the first time I've worked on a marine engine. NOTE* according to the hour meter the boat only has 60 hrs on it.
    This particular engine was hydro locked. Upon inspection and disassembly I poured out about a gallon of water out of the intake manifold and found a bent connecting rod on cylinder #3. Needles to say, I ended up overhauling the engine but now I am curious as how water could have gotten up so high to end up in the INTAKE manifold. I pressure tested the exhaust manifolds and cats ( in search of cracks or possible water ingestion through exhaust valves ) - Both manifolds and cats tested fine ( this still doesn't fully explain to me water getting to the intake but I would figure i would test anyways) Am I wrong to think the only possible way of water getting up that high would be through the actual filter ( flood type situation ) ?
    Has anybody else had or heard of these engines hydrolocking? I called my local Tige dealer to speak to a tech but he didn't really want to talk technical or give out any information. Indmar was even worse ( especially with parts but I feel like I'm too new to rant about it here )