Diagnostic BS? Service Question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Diagnostic BS? Service Question...

I was going to do my own service on my dad's boat this season since it is costing an arm and a leg at the shops and I don't think they do much of anything that I couldn't do myself. It is a 2006 20i by the way. I am a novice mechanic at best but I can figure things out if need be. Earlier this year, I was having a world of trouble with a limp mode issue/ potentiometer and ended up figuring out the problem and fixing it (the potentiometer can be adjusted a little by the way...) I also just did my steering cable which was a piece of cake..

i guess i will get to the point now...

For the basic service, I was going to do change engine oil and filter, gear oil, and impeller...

Would this be a sufficient service?

Apparently my dad just came back from the boat show in LA and a tech was telling him they run all kinds of computer diagnostics and now my dad is aprehensive to let me do the service. Is there any truth to this? I figured the only way a diagnostics scan would pick anything up is if the boat was throwing a code of some kind, and if it is throwing a code, wouldn't it be going into limp mode or something along those lines.

The reason I think this guy was feeding my dad BS is because the last time we had the boat serviced, they knocked a wire off of my fuel pump and the boat would not run when we got it back. Now if they were to run a diagnostic scan, i think something like that would of been picked up...

Just do a search. There are plenty of threads on this. Search for winterizing since that is when most here service there boats.

Comment

I have searched for hours and haven't really found an answer to that question...

Comment

The only reason they would run diagnostics is if you were having a problem. Not for normal service.

Comment