Struck the Prop

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Struck the Prop

Well I barely hit bottom this last weekend while backing my boat off the trailor. One corner of one paddle is bent. It's only about a half inch that is bent, but it was enough to cause some vibration around 13mph. Is something like this fixable, or do I have to get a new prop?

Yes, totally fixable. Here in CA, it runs anywhere from $130 to $250 to fix the prop. Definitely cheaper than purchasing a new one.

Comment

Where are you located. What kind of prop?

Comment

Originally posted by wake454 View Post
        Well I barely hit bottom this last weekend while backing my boat off the trailor. One corner of one paddle is bent. It's only about a half inch that is bent, but it was enough to cause some vibration around 13mph. Is something like this fixable, or do I have to get a new prop?
        I have plenty of experience with this...it's totally fixable. As long as the blade is not bent at the base you're good. I'll take a picture of my prop (don't ask) that got wrecked this weekend and post it. It's not fixable and I'll try and point out why.

Of course, the prop is the least of my worries. I'm looking at a strut and possibly a bent shaft, although they think it's ok. Funny thing is that I threw on my spare after it happened and the boat actually ran pretty well. We didn't push it much beyond 2500 RPMS, but did get some use out of it for floating around and such.
        Cursed by a fortune cookie: "Your principles mean more to you than any money or success."

Comment

Dog, isn't this your second time around with the strut and shaft?

Comment

I'll take a picture of my prop (don't ask) that got wrecked this weekend and post it
            Sorry, dog, you cant get out that easy.......we DEMAND the full story.

J/K, hope it's nothing more then the prop.