Low speed handling.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Low speed handling.

I am new to the whole inboard boat scene. I have found it a little difficult adjusting to not having much control at very low speeds. Does anyone have any suggestions?

FYI-01-21V limited
    I also have a question. when I back off my trailer I am not able to get it to back to the left. I know the torque will pull it more to the right but I think I should be able to back to the left a little. Can any explain why this is?

Also how many turns do you have from left to right from center. I thought I read some where it should be something like 4 turns? Mine is like 1.5 turns to left or or right from center. I can also turn sharper to the right then I can to the left. Could that be some of my trouble and how would I correct that? I just replaced the steering cable. I have the rudder in the center when my steering wheel is the center position.

Thanks again,

Sam
    15 Escalade ESV-Black
    08 RZ2-Blue

I have 3 full turns lock to lock as well.

The handling is the nature of the beast. The pivot point of the boat is actually the tracking fins on the hull center. The prop wash hitting the rudder is what causes the hull to turn. In reverse, the prop wash goes the other way. The only turning in reverse will come from the water travel over the rudder, which is very minimal. The reason you turn better to the right in reverse is Newton's third law. Every action has equal reaction. The prop rotation (and the trans torque) to one side causes the boat to pivot the opposite direction. This is very similar to hovering a helicopter, and having to hold left or right pedal (depending on the manufacturer).