Water Leak

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water Leak

I’m new to inboards, so I’m not sure how much if any water should leak into the bilge. Both my previous I/O’s did not leak at all. The only water we would get in the bulge would be from people crawling in n out of the lake bringing the water aboard.

My 2019 R23 appears to maintains a couple gallons or so of water even when we drain it completely on land. I’ve noticed the convex hull makes it harder to get all the water out too.

I know the taps, lights, swim platform hull penetrations should not leak because they are sealed with sealant, but what about the rudder and drive shaft? Are the those expected to leak?

Help me set my expectations correctly here. Thanks in advanced.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Water Leak

It should not leak. There should be zero water back there ideally.

Practically you can get some in there from people or your cooler (it drains in to the bilge). But it should not be overly noticeable.

My boat always has a bit back there no matter what I do because of the aforementioned Convex V hull.

Comment

That’s what I thought or that was my experience from both of my previous I/O ‘s

Comment

Our 2017 RZX2 gave me fits over water in the bilge. I kept thinking the same thing, people getting in and out etc.... The first culprit was the right rear stock ballast bag. The bag tore at the fitting for the vent. So we weren't catching that it was leaking until we added in the P&P bags, to which the additional bag wasn't filling as quickly as the other. Closer inspection; discovered the leak. Dealer set me a new bag as I was remote.

The second leaking bag was more a mystery. It was the front stock bag and I never found the leak (as you mention the design of the hull etc... makes it difficult to drain out the water unless I was at a boat ramp. After I dropped it off at the dealer, they finally found the problem and resolved it with a new bag.