Taps 2 repair. My gauge now works!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Taps 2 repair. My gauge now works!

So, I have been dreading this repair for about 6 months. I have read so many folks who have never figured this out or had issues getting the entire system to work again. Well, I finally undertook this over the last week, and I got it all to work again. Here is a quick overview and I also edited the wiring schematic to match my TAPS 2 system. I have a 2013 R20 that the gauged stopped working but the actuator still went up and down. From all my early testing I knew it was the actuator or the trim tab module. I bought a gauge as they are in short supply just in case. I do have the full TAPS 2 guide used for training TIGE mechanics but it's over the size limit so if you want it, I can provide it by email unless someone knows how I can post it here.

So, I tested the green wires before the TAPS Trim Module never could quiet figure out the 240 OHMS thing. But what you need to do is set you multimeter to OHMS 2k if there is setting choices. Then cut the green wires before the trim tab module and test them with the multimeter on the 2k setting. You are supposed to get 240-260k according to Bennett. I got nothing. So, I replaced the actuator and at first, I did not want to run the new wire all the way through the boat, so I cut off the old actuator and wired up the new one to see if I did not have to run the new wire. I still got nothing, so the wires were bad somewhere. So, I had to run the new wires up the starboard side of the boat. I tested them once I got them up and I got the 240 OHMS. I wired them up and tested the wire connections before the trim tab module still at 240.