Depth Finder / Guage ????

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Depth Finder / Guage ????

Newbie here. Love the website and discussion boards. Recently bought a 2000 2300V. Replaced the analog clock with a Hummingbird depth finder and wired everthing back the same way (at least I thought so). After installing it, noticed the center console that controls the lights, stereo, blower, etc runs even with the Perko switch in "off" position. I don't remember it having power before the depth finder install. Also, have blown several fuses, including the fuses behind the ignition switch and the micro fuses on top of the motor.

Can the depth finder be causing this and if so, how should I wire it differently. Any ideas are greatly appreciated. I now have a wide variety of fuses onboard, but it seems like I find a new one everytime and they are not easy to find.

Gracias

dmiller,

Welcome to the Tige family...

Regarding the trouble you're experiencing with the depth sounder - it's unlikely that the Hummingbird unit is the issue. You more likely have your wires mixed up.

Not sure which Hummingbird model you have but it will have a black wire that you'll connect to a ground lug somewhere. This should be easy to find - the clock you took out should have a black wire on it that will work.

It will have a red wire that needs to be connected to a 12VDC power supply. The clock you took out was probably powered by a 12VDC supply that's tied directly to a battery (not connected to the Perko - that way the clock stays in time even with the Perko 'off'). This is not the 12V supply you should have used to power the depth sounder. If your Hummingbird unit does not have a yellow wire, you should connect the red wire to a gauge lug that has a purple wire - the purple wire is the ignition 12VDC power that 'turns on' only when the engine is running.