I don't think this is right

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I don't think this is right

So, inspired by the loud tunes from last weekend's reunion I've decided to see what is up with my stereo. The amp and tower speaker set up is the same as when I bought it so I've got a couple questions. I'm sure I could find the answer somewhere on here but let's face it, I'm lazy. Plus I'm a mechanical engineer and tried to sleep through all my electrical engineering classes.

So my HU, Sony CDX-R30M 52Wx4 the only thing I've replaced, runs into my amp, Sony Xplod XM-2200gtx. The amp is 2 channel bridgeable.

Output Power:
    2 x 200W RMS (20Hz to 20kHz) @ 4Ohm 0.1% THD - at 14.4 volts
    2 x 250W RMS (20Hz to 20kHz) @ 2Ohm 0.15% THD - at 14.4 volts
    1 x 500W RMS (20Hz to 20kHz) @ 4Ohm 0.15% THD - at 14.4 volts (Monaural)

I have 4 Sony XS-V1635X, 250w peak, 65w rms, 4 ohm in two, what look like homemade, separate cans on the tower, 1 front facing and 1 rear.
    Now the interesting part, all speakers come off the left channel of the amp and each speaker has its own terminals on the cans. I've played with the level on the amp and the sub level on the HU, but can't turn the HU up above about 25 before it cuts out. At that level I still can't hear the music when I'm riding and that just sucks.

I've attached a picture of what the set up is. Help please so I can
    Attached Files
    Honey I'm home!

I'll take a stab @ this just to test my own knowlage but we need philwsails or spharis to get in on this

Ok, if i'm reading this right, you are powering all 4 (4 ohm ea) speakers off of 1 channel of a 2 channel amp, or are they bridged? (out side - and out side + of the 2 channels being used for all 4 spkrs).

If they are powered off 1 channel, with out doing the math, I think that's about a 1/2 ohm load at the amp. That could be why the signal is clipping when you turn it up.