Amp Questions…

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Amp Questions…

I’m new to the boat audio scene but not new to audio…so I’m curious why I don’t see anyone running the amps like we use on Harley’s? Same concept and smaller footprint, for example, I use soundigital amps that are a quarter of almost all the wetsounds amps, cost a quarter of them, are class A amps and push big power…just curious if there’s a difference or ?

I think you can use what ever amp you are comfortable with. I went wet sounds they are decent with power draw per output. they also offer 6 Channel to keep the number of amps needed low. witch also helps with power draw. I was looking for a big stereo that can run all day wide open if needed. This happens once a year at wake fest, other than that it gets played at normal or low levels. I have been blown out at wake fest so it isn't loudest boat out there.lol but will hold its own.(that is ok)that is what A LiNK is for. One boat can't compete with 4 or 5.
    Anyways..... if you trust there (sound digital) numbers and they work for you and your budget. use them. I might get crucified for saying it but ""wet sounds is not the best out there any more" they are good but there is better. LOL... My entire boat is wet sound. I do trust WS numbers. why I went with them.

Comment

Wet Sounds does offer a Micro 4 chnl and mono. Kicker also has a whole lineup of pocket amps, same for JL and Rockford. So they are out and being used. However, id say they are relatively new to the marine/power sports scene v's the more traditional sized amps.

For boats, Class-D is where its at.

For me, I like the pocket amps for smaller boats and boats with smaller outboards or jets. Easy to mount and easy on the stators. However, im not sold on super small amps that produce huge amounts of power. With the lack of heat sink mass, I wonder what the long term lifespan is going to be.