Trucks

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Trucks

I understand with the demand for better fuel economy going to an aluminum truck , but what is the advantage for GM to advertise that they are building there trucks with military grade steel, are they saying there old trucks were built with poor quality steel before and this is a big improvement??????????

Nope, just marketing, trying to play on people's basic knowledge that steel is stronger than Al. Like the bear cage commercial. I think ford should do a shark cage commercial and have a steel cage sink to the bottom and drown the occupants.

It's all BS marketing. All they really should do is hook up a load and have a drag race up a hill.
    2009 RZ2, PCM 343, MLA Surf Ballast, Premium Sound.
    2013 Toyota Sequoia 4WD W/Timbren SES

Comment

Agreed with Ewok, my brother has a new F150 (aluminum) and we have had steel trucks forever. I am also an insurance agent so I see plenty of wrecks and stuff. The aluminum is a super sturdy truck. In a high speed, hard collision it is going to do similar to the steel and break and what not but the only difference really is weight and the minor repairs (steel is easier to make minor repairs on IMO). These are all just marketing gimmicks from each company to try to push their brand ahead of everyone else. Every truck has its pros and cons.

Comment

"military grade steel" is just the same stuff everyone else uses, ( probably just A36) except with a whole lot more paperwork to track it. i.e. chemical composition, mechanical tests, ETC.

Comment