Motor Rebuild - The unplanned project

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Motor Rebuild - The unplanned project

So last end of Augest I got my first real boat (I have had jet-skis and sea-dos).
    I got an older Tige - 1996 PRE 2200, it was in mostly good shape but had sat for 3 years.

The items that needed attention was the fuel system needed a go through, gauges needed help, prop and a Full service.

Not a problem, I got a GREAT DEAL on it and in a past career I was a marine mechanic.

I ordered a new fuel pump, fuel lines and fuel regulater, had the fuel injectors rebuilt and then installed. Flushed old fuel, and replaced the filter and now time to test run!!

The boat did run when I perchesed it, just not well, now it sounded great running it on a flush in the drive way so the next step was to take it to the lake. At the lake things went well and we (me and the kids) ran around for about an hour.

While coming back to the launch bad things happened
    The motor started making crunching noises and quit I had checked the oil, was full, oil pressure through the ride was fine so what gives???

I completed a compression test after coming back home and had no compression on cylinder 5

My hopes for a great end to the summer.... dashed!!!

I pulled the motor before freezing temps set in but didn't open it up until a few house projects were completed. Once I did, I was so mad at my self - a bolt had fallen down the intake that I didn't notice when I was replacing fuel parts.

Pictures are worth a thousand words

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Comment

Any way, things are turning around!
      New/used block, new bearings, pistons, valves, cam and oil pump, some machine work and assembly has started!!

Comment

Thanks for the story and photos!

Comment

That's a lot work for a misplaced Bolt!

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Comment