advice needed - to buy or not: 2000, 20i

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

advice needed - to buy or not: 2000, 20i

So I am buying my first boat, a very clean 2000 20i, 75 hours on it, well maintained. I love the boat and am buying it promarily for recreational skiing w/friends and family.

Question is whether I am asking for trouble as far as nosediving the bow given that I will be using it on large lakes and in the connecticut river, both of which can have pretty choppy conditions and larger boat wakes to contend with.

A few folks have indicated that it might be a problem so it's giving me some second thoughts. Experience/insight/advice from any of you would be greatly appreciated.

Seems one solution is to run with the front cover on in choppy water?

Bottom line - is this a boat I should not buy because of this given that I am not that experienced, or should some common sense on the water be enough to guide me.

thanks

I run a 22ir in the Chesapeake Bay near the canal that connects it to the Delaware Bay. The wakes are as large as they will ever get given the vessels that travel the waters and the chop gets down right nasty to say the least. I have not had any problems...

In any case, do take in as much information as you can, preferrably go out with someone that has a lot of experience, and then make your decision. If you can get a ride in that particular boat, all the better.

Good Luck.

Comment

I have a 2000 21i Riders, the only time I nose dive the boat is when I am turning to pick up a skier after they fell and I turn too quick without backing up. The bow rides too high out of the water when cruising. Don't sweat it, 75 hours is sweat. I just hit 450 on mine.
      "I feel sorry for people that don't drink, when they wake up in the morning, that's as good as they're gonna feel all day" - Frank Sinatra

Comment

Just be careful, choppiness isnt much of a problem, but rollers will be.
        Common Sense is not so Common