Help with Strut

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help with Strut

Hello everyone! Im new to the boating scene and I recently purchased a 96 Tige and on my first outing I hit a rock and bended the strut. Any help on where can I buy a new one or can I get it repaired/fixed? Any feedback will be helpful. Thanks
    Last edited by caliguy58; 07-31-2011, 09:09 AM.
    Luis Garcia

To give a better description is a Pre 2002 - 20'
    Luis Garcia

Comment

Welcome to the site. Sorry you had a bad outing your first time out.

With little information I would say try your dealer.

If you can add where you are located and possibly some pictures others may be able to join in and give you a better recommendation.

Comment

I'm in Lancaster,Ca
        Luis Garcia

Comment

There's a Tige Dealer in Corona / Pomona. Ummmm I had the same boat, but never bet a strut. Not sure how hard it is to get off, but Im sure it can be replace or repaired without a huge amount of trouble. Are you mechanical at all?
          So this monkey walks into a bar...

Comment

If you bent the strut, you probably bent the shaft and prop as well. It's about a $1500 repair. You can get parts and do it yourself, but if you've never aligned a prop shaft, you probably want to have a professional do it. My $.02
            Cursed by a fortune cookie: "Your principles mean more to you than any money or success."

Comment

My local high end machine shop straightened my strut back out. Hopefully it's straight!
              Build thread: http://www.tigeowners.com/forum/showthread.php?14787-Duffy-s-2005-24v-wakesurfing-mod-thread&highlight=duffys+24v

Comment