HEATER WINTERIZATION ON 2014 Z1

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HEATER WINTERIZATION ON 2014 Z1

I was told my storage for boat was heated. Had a friend drop boat off and found out it is not!!! I had only motor winterized. I'm looking for help with winterizing heater. I did some searching on previous threads but I need to know where hose(s) are on motor and where to access them where they connect to heater unit itself(and how to access them). I've never worked on boat before but I'm sure with all your expert advice I will get though this!!!

Thanks in advance

Starboard side of the boat, if you open the seat that is front of the helm, there is a panel with i think 1 screw. The heater is bellow that. Essentially the heater is a small radiator, hot water runs through it on a loop and when you turn the heater on the fan attached to it blows hot air off of it. The Lines are fairly narrow in diameter and run off the engine...ill see if i can snag a pic of where they are off the engine. You can essentially disconnect the heater lines from the heater let the water drain out and we usually hit it with some compressed air to make sure All of the water gets out...you can even pump some Anti Freeze through it too to be extra safe, depending on how cold it gets where you are.

We typically do as February has been brutal over the past couple years(weeks of -15F )

Comment

For next year, id look for a new shop to do your winterizing. Dont understand how they "winterized" just the engine and not the heater core thats attached to it.