putting the boat away for the season

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

putting the boat away for the season

So the time has come up here in Maine to put the boat away for the season. This is my first time putting away the RZ2. Where I leave the boat for the season is down a hill in my back yard in a shelter. Something I noticed while backing down the hill I thought I would share. So my boat has been sitting in my driveway for a week or so with the plug out and the trailer cranked up all the way to keep water out. As I was backing down the hill I noticed in mu mirror there was some water coming out of the drain plug hole, so I stopped and walked back to see how much would come out. Well to my surprise I stood there for almost 15 min while water was pouring out at full speed. I know these boats have a convex hull so I would think there would be some water in ther, but not that much. Here in Maine it gets well below zero in the winter. I have never pulled the sub floor on my boat, so not exactly sure what damage could have been done, but glad I got all that water out.

Anybodyelse ever purposly completly empty their boat prior to winter storage?

Yes! When I dropped mine off last week, I made sure to park on a steep enough grade to get the water completely out. As mine is wrapped, any water remaining in the boat will liklely cause an even worse mildew problem than I all ready have.

It amazes me how severe the convex shape is... it does not look that much on the trailer!

Comment