Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone else seeing a lot of stress cracks/crazing on ATX boats? Should I be alarmed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone else seeing a lot of stress cracks/crazing on ATX boats? Should I be alarmed?

I demoed a used 2022 ATX 24 (~80 hrs) and when I looked it over I noticed that it has several areas of stress cracking/crazing of the gel coat that are making me nervous about moving forward with this boat. The dealer salesperson said that this is something they have seen more frequently on ATX & Tige boats over the last couple of years and it is hit or miss on which boats it shows up on. Cosmetically, it looks pretty bad in a few spots. Has anyone else seen this issue and has it caused any further issues or concerns?

The boat is in decent shape otherwise with no other visible signs of major damage.

Locations of the cracks:Thank you for any help you can provide!

Ooof, I'm not a fiberglass expert but that wouldn't make me feel great on a boat that new with so few hours. My '06 has some bubbling in one place but doesn't show any cracks like that.

ATX comes with a 5yr warranty that covers the second owner as well and the hull has a lifetime warranty. Here's how it's written:

LIFETIME HULL WARRANTY

ATX offers the only complete hull warranty in the industry. If you ever experience a structural hull failure or delamination at any time while you own your boat, ATX will stand behind it.

So with that warranty I'd feel a little less bad depending on how strongly they stand behind it. Maybe reach out to ATX corporate with the pics and get their take on it?

Comment