Water in hull at the end of the day

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water in hull at the end of the day

New Tige owner, I have always wanted a ski boat and finally pulled the trigger and got a great deal on 2004 22i type R. 640 hrs, boat is in overall great condition and runs like a top. Noticed the boat seems to be holding more water than I’m used to. Every 2-3 hrs I can turn the bilge on and it pumps water out for 1-2 mins. If I don’t run the bilge when I pull the plug out when I pull the boat out, it has a pretty steady stream for 3 mins or so. When having regular maintenance on the boat I had the driveshaft seal tightened. Is this normal for a ski boat or are there other areas water could be leaking in? Sorry if this is something simple. I’m new to the ski boat world. Thanks for the help and answers.

Shaft seal likely needs repacked. Eventually just tightening isn't the answer.

I think just switch to Glide dripless is the best move and super easy install on a direct drive. No more water dripping into the boat ever and no adjustments ever needed again.

Comment

Only other thing I can think of is the Exhaust. Just behind the doghouse, open the hatch (where rudder is) and make sure the exhaust tubes are seated properly. I had an issue where they were offset a bit and every time I stopped, I would get some leakage back into the hull.

I second the dripless seal also.

Comment

Originally posted by mikemcclain8 View Post
        Only other thing I can think of is the Exhaust. Just behind the doghouse, open the hatch (where rudder is) and make sure the exhaust tubes are seated properly. I had an issue where they were offset a bit and every time I stopped, I would get some leakage back into the hull.

I second the dripless seal also.
        By hull I mean Bilge but I think that's what you meant as well.

Comment

You can always grab the hose and fill the bilge while on trailer and see where it leaks out.