What did I do? (Starting/Starter Issue)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What did I do? (Starting/Starter Issue)

At the end of the day yesterday after a full day on the lake, my 2006 22Ve wouldn't start. Power to all the gauges, "startup" beep, but would not crank and not even a clicking. Just dead. (could hear the fuel pump running though) Checked the kill switch, tried a few things, but then just had someone tow us in.
    Today, I went troubleshooting (to the extent I'm capable). I'm not a mechanic, somewhat handy, but have been known to Eff things up as well. I generally google, YouTube and then give 'er a shot.
    So, I checked the engine battery and it was 12.5 Volts. Not full, but not terrible. Then checked at the starter end of the cable. Basically the same so assume power getting to the starer solenoid.
    Then I wanted to test that the neutral safety, which after a YouTube (car) video, it appeared I could do by measuring voltage while someone was turning the key with the "solenoid wire". So, in this case, I took the 2 wires (battery lead and I assume the starter relay lead), put them together (off of the starter) and then measured positive there and negative on the battery. Went to zero when cranking, so I thought, okay maybe it could be the neutral safety. But now, I get no power at all at the dash/gauges. So I'm guessing maybe I blew a fuse or fried the relay?

Additional info: there are times when it seems like the engine takes a few to turn over, so perhaps that was an indication of the starter beginning to fail? But the boat is new to me, so for me that was just "normal" for this older boat.

Thanks for any help/input.

Also appreciate if someone can point me to where I can find the Neutral Safety Switch.

Comment

Nevermind on the NSS. Found a post by Boatwakes that explains where I can find that.

Comment