First time wake surf setup advice for my 2000 21V

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First time wake surf setup advice for my 2000 21V

I've loved wake boarding behind my Tige for many years...however was introduced to wake surfing last summer and my knees, bride and kids want to surf more than board next summer. So we've got our first surf board & rope, all that's left is to figure out ballast.

I've measured my two rear lockers, and they are about 40" L X 24" W X 24" H.

As a beginner, I want to keep my ballast system fairly simple do it yourself job that has some flexibility and no drilling thru the hull. Perhaps after a few years we'll get to another level.

I also know of at least one family member that surf's goofy and two that are not, so I'm going to need to handle the side switches.

So what are your thoughts?

I've spent a couple days researching, and below is the best I could come up with.

- 3 straight line sumo max 650 bags. They are 40" L X 20" W X 20" H, so put one in each locker and one in the walkway to the bow.
    - 1 straight line sumo max flow portable pump with 1 1/2" hose & connections
    - 1 Ronix wake surf shaper

We run 2 fatsac's with Tsunami pump on top of one another that fill the entire locker. The bag on top is not full. Not sure how much weight that is. Not the best set up... but that's what we have for now. We have found that more people in the rear works better than more weight up front. We will usually have a couple kids go up front, maybe 125 lbs to clean up the goofy side wave. The regular foot side wave is easy to get dialed in and always nice. We start at 10.0mph for adults and usually TAPS at 7 then go from there. Kids will be slower. I'm not sure you need the third bag or the surf shaper to start with. Sounds like you are budget minded like us and we've been through two seasons with that set up. I will say I hope to automate our system with new bags/pumps next season. Enjoy!!

Comment