Do i need more ballast? 3000+ pounds

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do i need more ballast? 3000+ pounds

Hey guys ive owned my 2006 tige 24ve for 3 years now and have replaced the factory ballast setup with flyhigh enzo's in the rear lockers at 1450lbs a piece and put a flyhigh bow sac in the bow at 425lbs.

I normally fill the port side bag all the way along with the front bow sac and the starboard bag i usually fill half to three quarters as i find the wave is alot cleaner. I run a nauticurl suck gate and i find that the wave is quite tall and short and doesn't have a very long pocket forcing me to only surf ropeless right behind the swim deck.

Im 6'1 and 205lbs and im still using my liquid force rocket 5'4 board which has been a great board but doesnt allow for alot of tricks but then again im a total newb

Do i need alot more ballast in the bow to create a longer wave?

my ballast setup is currently maxing out my front bow and rear lockers as it is so any additional weight unfortunately will have to be lead or bags on top of seats or floor.

How are guys surfing so effortlessly behind their boats ropeless? and im right behind the swim deck with nearly 3000lbs of ballast

What speed are you running?? Sometimes too slow doesn't let the wave firm up is why I'm asking. With that much rear biased weight you may want some more bow weight. Easy way to decide is stuff/ask some of your crew up front and see if it lengthens your pocket.

If you haven't found duffymahoney thread or dakota4ce threads I would look them up. Two of the most dialed 24v(ve) waves I've seen while lurking around here

Comment

Funny you mention speed because I always thought I was going too slow..I’m usually between 9-10mph on the factory gauge which I find has the most amount of push any faster and I can’t go rope less

ill definitely throw some bodies up front to see if it helps

Comment