Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 26 of 26

Thread: Chart plotter

  1. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    1,717
    Boat
    2019 ZX5/ZX1
    That I dont know, I think their installer puts a lock on it but I could be wrong...

  2. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Southern OR
    Posts
    167
    Boat
    2015 Z3 with TAPS 3 / 2007 Calabria ProV
    [QUOTE=hcooperrn;776642]This site mentions 3 different versions for the Murphy HelmView, any idea what we have? I chose the HV700 for my 15 Z3, plugged it in and it worked.

    Looking at the Navionics website, I'm not easily finding the World version, just a regional or 'Large' version for North America, confusing.

    I'm guessing the 2g vs 16g is the size of the card they use. If you buy a regional card, it looks like you can add additional regions later, so you would need more space (may be less efficient to load individual regions vs a single large map?) Just guessing honestly.

    Also

  3. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Southern OR
    Posts
    167
    Boat
    2015 Z3 with TAPS 3 / 2007 Calabria ProV
    Quote Originally Posted by elevatedconcept View Post
    I just got a navionics card and slid it in, hopefully it works. Murphy wasnt listed so it went to a default safe plotter. I didnt see anything when I turned TT on after installation just a white screen. Hopefully its because I need to be close to or on a lake for it to register...
    When you activate the 2 gig card, there will be an option for Murphy. (Murphy option not available during set up on the larger card but is on the 2 gig) I chose Murphy, Helm View, and version HV700 and it worked.

  4. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    1,717
    Boat
    2019 ZX5/ZX1
    Quote Originally Posted by JCP View Post
    When you activate the 2 gig card, there will be an option for Murphy. (Murphy option not available during set up on the larger card but is on the 2 gig) I chose Murphy, Helm View, and version HV700 and it worked.
    I took a chance on the 16, it didnt work. the 2 works fine in about 20 different modes. Its the card size that is the issue. The murphy just wont even look at anything bigger then 2g regardless of whether there is that amount of info on the card or not

  5. #20
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    1,263
    Boat
    2006 24Ve w/GSA, 2016 Z3 w/Taps3, 19....maybe
    Just ordered my card after a long discussion with navionics and trying to see if there is a loadable program that will allow for the larger cards to be read on the Murphy system. As I suspected they have no control over that, but was worth the try.
    My life's journey is not ending up looking pretty, its sliding in broadside, used up, worn out, screaming "What a Ride"

  6. #21
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Orange County
    Posts
    1,717
    Boat
    2019 ZX5/ZX1
    I tried to tell ya..... I went through all the heartache....

  7. Can someone point me to the slot to put a card into on a 2016 Z3? Headed to Powell in a few weeks and this map looks pretty good. Thanks.

  8. #23
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Location
    Boise, ID
    Posts
    1,482
    There's a little door on the back of the screen. Can't remember, but I seem to think it's 2 small Allen's or Torx to remove the door.

  9. Navionics

    Quote Originally Posted by BLucas86 View Post
    Not sure if this answers your question or not, but FW Murphy is who designed the software from 2015- current. Love my Navionics on my Tige Clear...

    Good Luck!
    Which version of the Navionics did you use on the Clear system? Navionics+ or HotMaps Platinum? I have a 2018 RZX3 and read that the Clear system cannot ready a 16GB chip but could ready the 2GB chip.

  10. #25
    From what I understand only the Navionics card sold from Econtrols through a dealership/Tige are the only unit that will work. If someone finds out something different, please let me know!
    It's dangerous to go alone! Take this.

  11. #26
    KoolAid I bought the 2 gig card Navionics+ World (part#: MSD/NAV+W) online. In attempting to load it into 2018 z3 plotter through the front and under dash usb have not been able to get it to load. Freeheal thought there might be a door on the back to install the card. There isn’t a door on the back of the Clear to remove that I have found. Not sure if this supports your thought of only a card bought from TIGE/dealer will work.

    Anyone have experience in installing the navionics map file?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •